Chautauqua Institution

The Chautauqua Prize





The Map Thief
by Michael Blanding (Gotham/Avery)

by Kim Church (Dzanc Books)

The Bully of Order
by Brian Hart (HarperCollins)

by Lily King
(Grove Atlantic/Atlantic Monthly)





by Phil Klay
(The Penguin Press)

All Eyes Are Upon Us
by Jason Sokol
(Basic Books)

The Scatter Here is Too Great
by Bilal Tanweer

The Witch
by Jean Thompson
(Blue Rider Press)

Press Kit:
Full press release | The Chautauqua Prize logo (pdf)


My Foreign Cities wins 2014 Chautauqua Prize

2014PrizeThumbChautauqua Institution is delighted to announce “My Foreign Cities” (Liveright) by Elizabeth Scarboro as the 2014 winner of The Chautauqua Prize.

As author of the winning book, Scarboro receives $7,500 and all travel and expenses for a one-week summer residency at Chautauqua. She will host a public reading and book signing at a date to be determined this summer on the Institution grounds.  

Eligible books are those published first in the United States, in English, in 2014, and made available in hardcover or bound paperback form for purchase by the general public.

Chautauqua Institution, dedicated to the exploration of the best of human values and to the enrichment of life, is the pre-eminent expression of lifelong learning in the United States.

After each nominated eligible book is evaluated by three Chautauquan reviewers, the shortlist and winner are chosen by a three-member, independent, anonymous jury.

From the toddler whose grandparents are helping choose her first book to the octogenarian devouring the uncountable, Chautauquans have an extraordinary involvement with the written word.

Publishers (including trade, university, and small presses), agents, readers, or authors may submit books published in 2013 by living writers.

There is no other implicit or explicit relationship between The Chautauqua Prize and other Chautauqua Institution literary programs.

Entry Deadline: December 15, 2014



Sara Toth
Department of Education
(716) 357-6376

Chautauqua Institution
P.O. Box 28
1 Ames Ave.
Chautauqua, NY 14722